Boredom Solution: The “Like” Counter

My mother recenty told me about an article in my hometown newspaper that talked about how the use of the word “like” in everyday conversation has become a characteristic of my generation. I have come to notice this before now, particularly when I use it myself or when someone else says “like” between every other word.

This is what led me to start keeping a “like” counter during classes. Whenever I get bored, I start ticking off the number of times I hear the word “like”, whether it is said by me, my classmates, or even the teacher. This works best in a class where students are encouraged to speak up and participate in class lectures and discussions.

The next time you find yourself dozing off in class, I suggest you try to start your own “like” counter. You might just be surprised by how many times the word “like” comes up, and by the fact that we have started to teach ourselves to tune it out.

Leave a comment